New Zealand's Top Cruise Site

Top rated Princess Cruises ships

Most reviewed Princess Cruises ships

Top reviewers

282 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Sara H

Contributor

  • 192 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Jan 2016

"Loved the Golden Princess"

My family and I travelled on the Golden Princess in January 2016. Our party consisted of myself my husband in our sixties our daughter and son in in their forties and three grandchildren 16, 14 & 9 years old. They was plenty for all age groups and the 9 year old really enjoyed her club and did a program called 'junior chef at sea' which she and a small group decorated a cake with the help of the chef. She received a certificate and hat and apron, this was only $25 Aud. So was well worth it. The older boys did not attend the program's choosing to be with the adults or in the pool. Speaking for myself and my husband we found the food amazing, we had anytime dining and booked everyday at 5.30 and there was always a table for us. We mostly ate together and they always put us on the same big table. Food in the Horizon Court , breakfast and lunch was also very good. Staff were very helpful and even when busy, always a table somewhere at the Horizon Court. Drinks were readily available and plates cleaned away quickly. Our cabin steward was super polite and efficient. In all as a couple we have been on 5 cruises and this has to be one of the favourites.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: January 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Marie-Annick

Contributor

  • 159 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 4 Cruises

Sea Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    1
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Jan 2017

"Bingo!"

Beautiful ship, lots of wood work, it made us think what the Titanic must have been like. The food was glorious, some of the best dishes I have ever tasted, we had dinner in the dining room every night because of this and didn't bother with the special restaurant and couldn't possible imagine they would be better. The massage in the spa was such good value for the price. the staff were attentive and so knowledgeable. We loved the beer garden half way through the cruise, I am now drinking Zibbibo Rose back home! And for Bingo novices we won the Jackpot! who can believe it! We attended both Wine tasting and I was amazed at how knowledgeable the crew were about their wine choices. they were also very funny and certainly kept us laughing all the while teaching us how and what to drink. Met some great people, loved our room, even had my hair done and was fascinated to hear all about the life of the crew behind the scenes. Boarding was so easy and the casino was always a lot of fun. We cannot think of a better way to spend our holidays, everything at our finger tips but full on relaxation at the same time.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sea Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: January 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Anthony W

Contributor

  • 134 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Apr 2015

"The Renovation Cruise"

This was supposed to be a positioning cruise but it appeared to be more like a renovation cruise. The ship was apparently heading to California for a long awaited update. However Princess decided to start the work during the 31 day cruise. The most serious issues for us were the problems we experienced with our cabin toilet which generally failed to flush for the first five days and at various times later in the cruise. Princess did offer some compensation but it was clearly a fairly widespread issue on this cruise. Not only inconvenient but also a potential health hazard. More generally the works going on included repainting public areas and taking the main pool out of use for three (sea) days, also for repainting. This together with the rather tired appearance of the ship spoiled what would otherwise have been an excellent and really good value cruise. We hope the ship will look much smarter when it comes to be based in Melbourne later this year. On the positive side, we enjoyed the ports of call, particularly in Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Mexico which each came as a very pleasant surprise. We avoided the Princess tours which were generally criticised by other passengers as being too expensive and had no difficulty finding ways to independently entertain ourselves in each port.. An area that particularly impressed was the overall standard of the food and we were surprised at the consistent criticism of other passengers. The steakhouse experience was excellent and generally the dining room meals were fine. Also the pizzas were pretty good. Sometimes food in the buffet could have been hotter but this is a normal criticism of buffets. Also the chefs there were brilliant at assisting my wife who had particular dietary requirements. Entertainment on cruise ships is very much a matter of personal taste and our view on this cruise was that it was varied - some acts very good, some terrible. We have to say that the Cruise Director did not appeal to us and did not seem to add much value to the cruise. Other members of his staff seemed to offer far more (especially Jamie) and they organised a good range of activities. Embarkation in Buenos Aires was a little tedious and disembarkation was no better in Los Angeles, not helped by a late arrival and delays in delivering the luggage. Overall, this was a very enjoyable cruise but could have been even better if only Princess would pay more attention to detail (lots of little things - eg playing a movie without turning the disco music off).

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: Mediterranean
  • Sailed: February 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Jean M

Contributor

  • 133 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 4 Cruises

Sun Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Jan 2017

"Great cruise"

Sun Princess is a really good ship. Well laid out. Food in the dining room was superb. Could not fault it. Food in the Horizon court buffet was also very good. The wait staff in crooners bar were excellent. Also our stateroom staff Jaysen was great always had a smile on his face. The entertainment was pretty good especially the juggling act. Embarkation and disembarkation went pretty smoothly except my husbands case did not get delivered to our stateroom. By 4.30pm I phoned service desk to enquire where it was. After half an hour I phoned again. Still no case. I went down to the service desk and saw his case sitting next to a wall near the service desk. I went and picked it up and took it myself up to our stateroom. I was not impressed. There was no follow up by the service desk to check if we got our case. This was probably the only negative comment. We had the noravirus on board and the staff handled this really well. The captain kept us up to date on a regular basis. I think that Princess cruise ships should adopt the same policy as P & O cruise line in that passengers are served by staff members in the buffet restaurant. Unfortunately when passengers are allowed to handle food there is always a high risk of having these outbreaks.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sun Princess
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: December 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Sandra F

Contributor

  • 133 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Sea Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Feb 2016

"Absolutely fantastic ship!"

We have done many cruises over the years and would rate our recent cruise on the Sea Princess as one of the very best ever. We sailed on her three years ago and this ship is now just so much better than before. We had a premium oceanview cabin - there are only a few of these cabins on board on decks 9 and 11. They take up the same amount of space as a balcony cabin, but the space is all internal. From what I could see, the balconies were quite small, and the internal cabin that I saw on deck 9 would have made me very claustrophobic. The food on board was excellent - great choices in the buffet, and in the evenings there were more choices than in the dining room. We nearly always had dinner in the dining room and found that the meals lacked a good serve of vegetables. The crew service was amazing - in the buffet they were constantly asking if we would like water, juice (at breakfast) tea or coffee. The ship itself is very elegant but I was surprised to find that only one bank of lifts went from top to bottom - the other two lifts went from deck 5 to deck 8 and from deck 14 to deck 7. The shore excursions were very expensive and not good value; the port information given was often inaccurate. The entertainment team appeared to be all English - no Australians at all. We thought the one production show was not up to standard, as were most of the speciality entertainers. The price of beer was reasonable, but wines were very expensive. There was a New Zealand ice cream bar on the pool deck but at $A5.00 per scoop it was too expensive. Two things that we really appreciated were that sailing from an Australian port, all gratuities were included in the fare and also for the very first time, we did not have the message "15% has been added for your convenience" for drinks purchased. It was a great holiday and I hope our next sailings with Princess (more have been booked for later in the year) will be as good.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Sea Princess
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: January 2016
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"NZD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.co.nz","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}