New Zealand's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +
114k

Most reviewed ships

Top reviewers

  • Peter
    465 helpful votes
    465 votes
  • Ralph S
    417 helpful votes
    417 votes
  • Shane
    397 helpful votes
    397 votes
  • SUSAN H
    368 helpful votes
    368 votes
  • Geoffrey
    352 helpful votes
    352 votes

1288 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Geoffrey

Contributor

  • 352 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Noordam

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    3
  • Value

    3

"14day Noordam"

Nov 2015

We took the 14 day re positioning cruise from Honolulu to Sydney on the Noordam. This was only our second time on a cruise ship and the thought of such a long time on the water was a bit daunting. This concern soon disappeared. As with our first cruise, we chose a balcony cabin which we really made use of. Leaving Honolulu, the first 5 days straight were at sea, and many hours were spent on the balcony just watching the ocean pass by. The weather was near perfect and often we had glass out seas. The Noordam exceeded our expectations in almost every way:, food, service, facilities, activities etc. The common areas on Decks 2 and 3 were great for a quiet read, coffee or a drink at one of the bars. The 5 o'clock happy hours with two-for-one drinks were also a good time to get together with the new cruise buddies. Our only disappointment was the band playing live music, which did not live up to their billing of "BB King All Stars". However, for the age group of most passengers on the ship, I'm pretty sure there was plenty of good entertainment throughout the cruise. Especially good was the comedian and ventriloquist, who would have had many people coming back for multiple shows.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Noordam
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: October 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Jacqueline H

Contributor

  • 325 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Ovation of the Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Amazing ship, staff, entertainment and food."

Feb 2017

We loved every moment of our cruise on the Ovation of the Seas. Embarkation took 10 minutes from kerb to ship (just as they state on their website!). We were a bit concerned going on this ship from some of the negative reviews we had read but we need not be. The ship is just wonderful. It is BIG but is so well laid out we never had trouble finding our way around. The cabin was a great size with plenty of storage. We loved having a balcony and even better a kettle in the cabin so we could make a cuppa first thing in the morning and enjoy it out on our balcony. The bathroom was compact but well set out and very functional. The decor throughout the ship was just lovely. We loved every meal we had. Generally we had breakfast in the Solarium Bistro, lunch in the Windjammer Buffet and dinner in the American Icon. The food was fantastic and plentiful, you will ever go hungry. There is an icecream station on the pool deck plus a hot dog van in the Seaplex as well as Sorrento's pizza (we only went here once and weren't great fans of the pizza but freshly made they would probably be yummy), Cafe Two70 and the Promenade Cafe (which is open 24/7). We didn't eat at the Extra restaurants as we were very happy with the places we ate at. The facilities and entertainment were just fabulous, the show The Dream was incredible. We went on the Bumper Cars, North Star and iFly (we prebooked the North Star and iFly before our cruise but you could also book once on board). I was amazed how well run everything was with 4,000 passengers. We didn't go on the Flowrider but watched it many times - it did look fun! The tendering service was well organised as was when we docked. If people listen to the staff and follow directions things run smoothly it is only when you get ignorant, rude and selfish people that slow things down. The pool areas are great, we especially loved the Solarium. This is the 16+ pool area. I think if you go with the attitude of looking for things to complain about you're never going to enjoy yourself. It is an incredible ship which we found very hard to find any faults with. The staff in all areas where so friendly, efficient and happy to help whenever they could. We loved our cruise and hope we are lucky enough to go on the Ovation of the Seas again. It is a spectacular ship!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Ovation of the Seas
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: January 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Alexander

Contributor

  • 281 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    4

"Happy to cruise again on this ship"

Sep 2017

Book not too early but rather keep watching the weekly updates on cabin fares as the prices go considerably up and down. We really just go to our cabin just to change and sleep so it does not really matter what position on the ship our room is. It is useful for an easy and quick embarkation to complete all the paperwork (Including luggage labels, etc) before turning up to the wharf so your booking in and cabin card issue should only take about 10 to 15 minutes (most of the time in the line-up). Similar advice for disembarkation. Please don’t be one of those travellers in front of me arguing the toss or asking about something for which full information was supplied with our book. NZ has a very smart system for processing passengers. Our main gripe is that although this ship advertises queen sized beds there are definitely none. We had it confirmed by a senior officer at the information desk that all beds on this ship are standard length only at 185cm. Moving to another cabin would not solve our long length requirement, and yet our P&O booking agent did email us before the voyage to say the beds were queen length (205cm). Obviously, you can’t trust the information from the booking agent (as this is the second time the agent has been wrong). But don’t worry too much if your six foot tootsies hang over the end of your bed, as our deck supervisor got cracking and constructed an extension to our bed. You could say “harden up” and lie diagonally across the beds but you would soon find your backside sinking down the Grand Canyon where the twin beds have been pushed together. Our room staff were excellent and our room was small but quite adequate with lots of drawer spaces. Off course half the stuff we packed we never used. Our hair dryer in the cabin was out of order for entire trip. Internet costs and service has greatly improved. The best deal is at $79 unlimited for the length of the voyage. Access seemed possible from most parts of the ship. The food service and choices were very good. Not too many passengers tried the soups but I found them very nice (although a wee bit salty). Shocking to see the big number of folks eating food only with their hands – a fast way to get sick with a bug. The tea and coffee urns only had one working at a time so the line ups were long. Plenty of fruit juices as an alternative. We brought along our thermal mugs to fill. Be very fastidious about thoroughly cleaning your hands several times a day. Plenty of entertainment with twice nightly shows in the concert hall. We enjoyed all of these. You just have to get there early enough to get a seat. No use sitting anywhere near the back under the balcony as you just can’t see the stage. Upstairs was OK. Around the bars there are plenty of musicians playing and singing. Our favourite was the piano man Francis who played to the audience of us seniors with our type of soft songs, but then in the middle of a tune extemporised much into delightful jazz and ending in a classical Beethoven flurry. Another young guy was attempting to sing something but we just about all got up and left. In another bar the Pines Trio played us lots of excellent dance music. The Marquee final of the passenger talent quest was terrific. There was also some serious ballroom dancing happening up in the Dome. Some of the other singer / band routines around the bars were just loud noise with no sense of melody. The Air Band featuring DJK were terrible and must have exceeded safe decibel limits. Bring your ear muffs. Then again you can always go over to the info desk and get the latest Sudoku. Seriously, do we really want to eat our breakfast with heavy rap music? Came across a guy who appeared to have taken a bit of a turn on the stairwell. We called for help to the medical centre and a medic came within a couple of minutes. Top marks. The first day embarkation took only about ten minutes because we were careful enough to fill out all the required paperwork. Same with leaving the ship – just walk off and get your bag – no more than ten minutes. Top marks again. Bottom marks for the way the shore trips by tender were organised. We had to wait with our allocated tickets for a whole two hours to get ashore at all ports. Just not good enough. Call me a snob but I think that getting changed into at least semi-formal clothes for the evening is important. It’s a pity that the door staff at the Waterfront Restaurant room don’t push this and so let day clothes in (wearing hats, shorts and singlets) at the formal dining table. The main importance of changing is not so much to change one’s looks but rather to change one’s smelly clothes. It would have been great to have at least one formal dress-up night. We’ve now been on four P&O trips. Overall happy with this trip as the destinations have been excellent. Happy to go again.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: September 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Helen S

Contributor

  • 260 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Eden

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Got what we paid for"

Jan 2016

We cancelled a trip to Europe following the trouble in Paris so needed to find an alternative. So I got on the net, not really caring exactly where we would go, rather that the price was right. We decided on a cruise on the Pacific Eden going up the coast of Queensland. We were pleased with what we got - after all, $100 a day is pretty reasonable. Despite the media beatup on the gastro-intestinal outbreak on board (don't think I have been on board a ship where there wasn't at least a couple of cases) it was a very good trip. There are a few issues with the update to the previous HAL ship but nothing major. The only thing that really annoyed me was to be directed to be out of the cabin by 6am. Bit like we got your money, you've had your holiday, now get off. The entertainment from the ships company in the showroom was amongst the best I have seen before. As I said in my title, you get what you pay for so the general activities are basic, at the best, but do appeal to a lot of people. We were more than happy to spend our time reading and chatting to others.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Eden
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: December 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Trevor H

Contributor

Ovation of the Seas

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Beautiful Ship"

Feb 2017

This is our 4th cruise with RCI and we had a wonderful time, we booked to board at 1230 and arrived at pier and informed attendant of this and they checked our paper work and sent on to the section of check in, on board in about 15 mins from dropping off our bags.The ship has so many wow factors and the cabin was a decent size (balcony deck 8 D8 ).Make sure you book what you want to see and if you want to eat at any of the speciality restaurants as they seem to get booked out, this can be done online and also book the drink package as well more expensive to buy on board. The food on board was amazing and no problem if you wanted a particular meal mention to waiter and they will arrange for the following night, we visited Jamie Olivers Italian restaurant along with Wonderland, for what you get and the presentation is well worth extra price. We have booked again for next season out of Sydney, ship never felt overcrowded and staff always polite and helpful

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Ovation of the Seas
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: February 2017
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"NZD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.co.nz","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}