New Zealand's Top Cruise Site

Passengers Booked

3 1 0 0 0 0 +

Trusted cruise ship reviews

1280 Passengers have reviews and counting

Most reviewed ships

Top reviewers

  • SUSAN H
    308 helpful votes
    308 votes
  • Peter
    298 helpful votes
    298 votes
  • Ralph S
    271 helpful votes
    271 votes
  • Geoffrey
    270 helpful votes
    270 votes
  • Kaye R
    217 helpful votes
    217 votes

1280 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Mike A

Contributor

  • 1 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Golden Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

"Lovely Food, Good Service and loved PNG."

Nov 2017

We have now been on 3 cruises on the Golden Princess it is a good size ship large but not to big like some of the newer ships. The food on Princess Cruise is always very good. We went traditional dining were we find the service better than anytime dining, you have the same waiters and table each night and the same table companions which by the end of the cruise become friends. We have not been to PNG before and we loved it, would certainly go again it has unspoiled beauty and the locals were wonderful. The entertainment was good and the cabin well maintained, the cabins are quite compact, we had a mini suite with is larger than a standard cabin but is still on the small size for a larger than standard cabin. The service was a high standard and the staff very friendly. Most of the guest are in the 50 to death category so not so many children or teens which is good if you like peace and quite, although not many young people you are still able to have lots of fun with the staff with all the on going activities indoor and outside. Would recommend this ship we loved it and would cruise Golden Princess again.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Golden Princess
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: May 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Anita

Contributor

  • 2 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 1 Cruises

Carnival Legend

View deals
  • Overall

    2
  • Food

    1
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    3
  • Value

    2

"Weekend Cruise "

Nov 2017

We just came back from this weekend cruise and have to following comments The Ship is very dark inside and the dacor is very out there The staff are very good The beds and cabins were very comfortable Entrainment very good The food was very disappointing from day two. Almost everything taste like it was out of a packet, and very bland. I don’t know what milk was used in the make your own coffee and tea, it tasted like long life milk all the time.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Carnival Legend
  • Destination: Australia
  • Sailed: November 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Alexander

Contributor

  • 41 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    4

"Happy to cruise again on this ship"

Sep 2017

Book not too early but rather keep watching the weekly updates on cabin fares as the prices go considerably up and down. We really just go to our cabin just to change and sleep so it does not really matter what position on the ship our room is. It is useful for an easy and quick embarkation to complete all the paperwork (Including luggage labels, etc) before turning up to the wharf so your booking in and cabin card issue should only take about 10 to 15 minutes (most of the time in the line-up). Similar advice for disembarkation. Please don’t be one of those travellers in front of me arguing the toss or asking about something for which full information was supplied with our book. NZ has a very smart system for processing passengers. Our main gripe is that although this ship advertises queen sized beds there are definitely none. We had it confirmed by a senior officer at the information desk that all beds on this ship are standard length only at 185cm. Moving to another cabin would not solve our long length requirement, and yet our P&O booking agent did email us before the voyage to say the beds were queen length (205cm). Obviously, you can’t trust the information from the booking agent (as this is the second time the agent has been wrong). But don’t worry too much if your six foot tootsies hang over the end of your bed, as our deck supervisor got cracking and constructed an extension to our bed. You could say “harden up” and lie diagonally across the beds but you would soon find your backside sinking down the Grand Canyon where the twin beds have been pushed together. Our room staff were excellent and our room was small but quite adequate with lots of drawer spaces. Off course half the stuff we packed we never used. Our hair dryer in the cabin was out of order for entire trip. Internet costs and service has greatly improved. The best deal is at $79 unlimited for the length of the voyage. Access seemed possible from most parts of the ship. The food service and choices were very good. Not too many passengers tried the soups but I found them very nice (although a wee bit salty). Shocking to see the big number of folks eating food only with their hands – a fast way to get sick with a bug. The tea and coffee urns only had one working at a time so the line ups were long. Plenty of fruit juices as an alternative. We brought along our thermal mugs to fill. Be very fastidious about thoroughly cleaning your hands several times a day. Plenty of entertainment with twice nightly shows in the concert hall. We enjoyed all of these. You just have to get there early enough to get a seat. No use sitting anywhere near the back under the balcony as you just can’t see the stage. Upstairs was OK. Around the bars there are plenty of musicians playing and singing. Our favourite was the piano man Francis who played to the audience of us seniors with our type of soft songs, but then in the middle of a tune extemporised much into delightful jazz and ending in a classical Beethoven flurry. Another young guy was attempting to sing something but we just about all got up and left. In another bar the Pines Trio played us lots of excellent dance music. The Marquee final of the passenger talent quest was terrific. There was also some serious ballroom dancing happening up in the Dome. Some of the other singer / band routines around the bars were just loud noise with no sense of melody. The Air Band featuring DJK were terrible and must have exceeded safe decibel limits. Bring your ear muffs. Then again you can always go over to the info desk and get the latest Sudoku. Seriously, do we really want to eat our breakfast with heavy rap music? Came across a guy who appeared to have taken a bit of a turn on the stairwell. We called for help to the medical centre and a medic came within a couple of minutes. Top marks. The first day embarkation took only about ten minutes because we were careful enough to fill out all the required paperwork. Same with leaving the ship – just walk off and get your bag – no more than ten minutes. Top marks again. Bottom marks for the way the shore trips by tender were organised. We had to wait with our allocated tickets for a whole two hours to get ashore at all ports. Just not good enough. Call me a snob but I think that getting changed into at least semi-formal clothes for the evening is important. It’s a pity that the door staff at the Waterfront Restaurant room don’t push this and so let day clothes in (wearing hats, shorts and singlets) at the formal dining table. The main importance of changing is not so much to change one’s looks but rather to change one’s smelly clothes. It would have been great to have at least one formal dress-up night. We’ve now been on four P&O trips. Overall happy with this trip as the destinations have been excellent. Happy to go again.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: September 2017
Contributor image placeholder

LYNNE W

Contributor

  • 77 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

P&O - Pacific Jewel

View deals
  • Overall

    3
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    3
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"LIFE JACKET DRILL, RUDE STAFF AND ISSUES WITH CARD"

Sep 2017

The life jacket drill took far too long it was quite ridiculous, I have done several cruises, previously with Pacific Pearl. I noticed quite a difference with the crew, twice I was shouted at on the Pacific Jewel, over my life jacket, I was on deck 12 ready for sailing and was shouted at, told to take my life jacket to my cabin or they would not serve us any alcohol, my sister and I are senior citizens, not senile or deaf, and did not appreciate being shouted at like that. The other episode was I got told off for using my phone, during the drill, I had to send a txt to my daughter who was rushed into hospital the previous day. There is a way of talking to people, quiet and polite is the key! The worst thing was, being told my card was not working, this happened twice a day every day. It was a real pain having to go to my cabin get my credit card, go to the desk, being told sorry mam, it is ok now. Then back to the cabin with my credit card. Disembarking, was so embarrassing, I was pulled aside, told I had not settled my bill, and told to go to the desk. I had to wait for the lift, q again at the desk, get my card fixed, and again wait for the lift and q again to get off the ship. I called my bank while onboard they confirmed, and told the desk staff that there are no issues at all with my credit card, the issue is with your system. Why, all the other cruises, I did not have to go down to the desk twice daily, to get the card loaded/fixed? On the Pacific Pearl I had to do nothing, the account was settled automatically when we dis embarked. This cruise was not the most enjoyable. I will add, the bar staff were minimal and I had to go to the bar for drinks, that was not acceptable, you need more bar staff. Waterfront restaurant, the staff were marvellous as the cabin staff. Hats off to Martina Montez, what a fantastic professional show, I would pay to see her, please keep her as entertainment, she really is a star. Thank you, I hope our cruise on Pacific Dawn in January has no issues with cards, or rude staff.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: P&O - Pacific Jewel
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: September 2017
Contributor image placeholder

Rikki-lee

Contributor

  • 82 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Carnival Legend

View deals
  • Overall

    3
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5

"Great Value!"

Sep 2017

I have cruised with Carnival twice now and enjoy every moment of it! The crew are always friendly and helpful. The food is good and the specialty restaurants on board are even better. I feel the alcohol is well priced considering you cannot buy a beverage package other than the soft drinks. The daily info they drop into your cabin mailbox always excites me cause there is just always something fun and interesting to do if you are sea for a few days! I will be sailing with Carnival for the third time in 2018 and cant wait!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Carnival Legend
  • Destination: South Pacific
  • Sailed: March 2017
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"NZD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruisesalefinder.co.nz","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}